What does overwrite a file mean

Moving and copying files Saving Documents When you are typing a new document, it exists only in your computer's memory. Memory or RAM is a temporary storage area.

What does overwrite a file mean

It's also possible that they could not. There are additional steps that you should take if you want to ensure that a deleted file actually is and stays deleted. Each has a different chance of being recovered. When you delete a file in Windows Explorer or in some other applications, the file is not actually deleted at all, but rather simply moved to the Recycle Bin.

When you empty the Recycle Bin or delete a file in the Windows command prompt, or when most programs delete a file, the file is just removed from the list of files on the system. The area that the file's data previously occupied is marked as unused, but it is not otherwise erased.

Secure delete operates like permanent delete but it takes the extra step of overwriting the area previously occupied by the file's data.

Because of this, secure delete is often more time-consuming. Secure delete also typically requires additional tools that are not part of Windows. In common usage, file deletion is usually one of the first two: Recovery, recovery and recovery Each of the three methods of deleting files have a corresponding approach to recovering what's been deleted.

Some are easy, some are exceptionally difficult, and some require special tools, luck, and timing.

Managing Word Documents | Saving Documents | InformIT

Files that have been deleted by being moved to the Recycle Bin can be undeleted simply by moving them back. As you might imagine, that's exactly why the Recycle Bin exists. People were accidentally deleting files that they didn't mean to and the Recycle Bin acts as a safety net.

Files that have been permanently deleted can sometimes be recovered by using undelete or recovery utilities. Because a so-called "permanent" delete doesn't actually overwrite the file's data, it is possible for software tools to rediscover or reconstruct the file from what's been left behind.

This type of recovery requires both luck and timing as the data previously occupied by the deleted file is marked as available free space on disk.

what does overwrite a file mean

That means that files subsequently written to the disk could cause the deleted file's data to actually be overwritten. As Windows is constantly writing to the hard disk, the sooner that a recovery is attempted, then the higher are the chances of its complete success.

It's not uncommon for me to recommend the program Recuvawhich is one of many programs that perform this type of file recovery. Files that have been securely deleted can typically not be recovered. There can be exceptions, though.

Overwrite Definition

For example if the secure delete overwrites the data only once, there are advanced and expensive data recovery techniques that can use the residual magnetic field of previously stored data to attempt to recover it. That sounds complex because it is; as I said, it's both difficult and pricey.

What do you need? What you need depends on your level of paranoia and the sensitivity of the data that you are deleting.

Does append mean that it doesn't overwrite the whole "media" (vs file)itself? Or does append mean that if your database is abcsqlbackup, and you backup using append, it won't overwrite the existing abcsqlbackup and there will be a abcsqlbackup2?? NTBACKUP Append and Overwrite I want to see if NTBACKUP can backup the My Documents of the computer. I would like it to backup to the drive and either append or overwrite . Aug 21,  · Does this mean I have to close something first? Can and how can I use the using statement here? I need to save the file under te same name (overwrite) can someone help?

For most average users, the combination of the Recycle Bin and permanent delete is almost always sufficient. Couple that with making sure to fully erase the hard drive with a tool such as dban before discarding the machine and you have the vast majority of concerns covered.

If you have legitimate concerns, or are just feeling paranoid, a reasonable approach is to run a secure delete utility periodically to wipe the free space on your hard drive.

This ensures that deleted files which have not yet been overwritten by other files cannot easily be recovered. And finally, one approach that completely defeats even magnetic media data recovery technique is to encrypt your entire hard drive and thus all of the data on it.

While the encrypted data could technically be recovered, it is of little value without also having the encryption key or being able to crack the encryption algorithm.

Notenboom has been playing with computers since he was required to take a programming class in An 18 year career as a programmer at Microsoft soon followed.

After "retiring" inLeo started Ask Leo!

Search This Blog

Not what you needed?The downloaded file does not match the file on the source's server. This is often caused by a download getting interrupted before it finished, sometimes due to network problems and . The last frame before the inserted file is shown on the left, and the first frame after the inserted file is shown on the right.

Press the Control (Windows) or Command (Mac OS) key. The overwrite pointer changes to the insert pointer and the vertical line shows arrows pointing to the right. This is what Office documentation says about this.

If you are uploading a revised version of an existing file, do one of the following: If your library is not configured to track versions of files, you can replace the existing file with the revised schwenkreis.com the Upload Document section, select the Overwrite existing file. Aug 25,  · The chances that MS will overwrite your file on a data partition are also fairly high, as it can and does overwrite deleted files with other data files.

So the value of creating a partition for that reason is marginal at best. Keep the same name and location if you want to overwrite the original file. Otherwise, save the file with a different name and/or location.

If you want to close a document, open it on the right side of the Word window, and choose File, Close. Oct 10,  · I'm experiencing a problem when I deploy schwenkreis.com file if schwenkreis.com already exists in the download directory.

Here's what happens: I browse to a remote computer for the "newer".bat file, and if schwenkreis.com file already exists in the download directory, it will overwrite the existing file with this newer file.

[solved] Does require_file now overwrite existing files? - App Scripts - schwenkreis.com